Last Coin-------------------Next Coin

Dynasty: Arab Governors of Tabaristan
Reigned: c.690 - 786 AD
Denomination: AR Drachm (anonymous)
Date of Issue: 784 AD / 168 AH
Obverse: Copy of Sassanian type with portrait and Pahlavi inscription: "APZUT" (strong) in front of the bust; "GDH" (splendor) behind. "APD" (praise) in the lower right margin; "NYWK" (good) in the lower left margin
Reverse: Fire altar and attendants and Pahlavi inscription: mint "TPWRSTAN" (Tabaristan) to the right; date "SSYWST" (133) to the left. The date is a Post Yazdgard Era date corresponding to 168 AH (784 AD).
Reference: Album 73, Mitchiner ACW 1388
Weight: 2.5 gms
Diameter: 23.5 mm


(now Mazandaran, northern Iran) The last Sassanian, Yezdirgird III, was assassinated in 651. Although Sassanian copies of coins were replaced by Islamic coins in 696, in Tabaristan, they continued until the reign of Harun-al-Rashid (786-809).

Back to main page