Last Coin

Area: Moghul Empire
Ruler: Shah Alam Bahadur I
Reigned: 1707-1712 AD (1119-1124 AH)
Denomination: AR Rupee
Mint: Surat
Issued: 1709 AD (1121 AH) Year 2
Obverse: Persian Script
Reverse: Persian Script
Reference: KM#348.34
Weight: 11.5 gms
Diameter: 23.8 mm


Bahadur Shah (14 October 1643, Burhanpur – 27 February 1712, Lahore) was a Mughal Emperor, who ruled India from 1707 to 1712. He was the second son of Aurangzeb and his original name was Qutb ud-Din Muhammad Mu'azzam later titled as Shah Alam by his father. He took the throne name Bahadur Shah in 1707. His name Bahâdur means "brave" and "hero" in Turko-Mongol languages. Reigning just five years, he was an old man of 63 when he came to power. He made settlements with the Marathas, Pacified the Rajputs, and briefly became friendly with the Sikhs in the Punjab. He was travelling throughout his reign and only came to rest in Lahore in the last few months of his life.

The Empire ended in 1857 AD when the British deposed and exiled Bahadur Shah Zafar, the last Mughal Emperor after the great uprising.

Back to main page