Last Coin-------------------Next Coin

Area: Moghul Empire
Ruler: Aurangzeb
Reigned: 1658-1707 (1068-1118 AH)
Denomination: AR Rupee
Mint: Dar-al-Khilifat Shahjahanabad (Delhi)
Issued: 1695 AD (1107 AH) year 39
Obverse: Persian Script
Reverse: Dar-al-Khilifat mint name. Persian Script
Reference: KM#300.81
Weight: 11.4 gms
Diameter: 21.1 mm


Abul Muzaffar Muhi-ud-Din Mohammad Aurangzeb, (4 November 1618 - 3 March 1707), son of Shah Jahan, commonly known as Aurangzeb and by his imperial title Alamgir ("world-seizer or universe-seizer") was the sixth Mughal Emperor and ruled over most of the Indian subcontinent. His reign lasted for 49 years from 1658 until his death in 1707. Aurangzeb was a notable expansionist and during his reign, the Mughal Empire reached its greatest extent. He was among the wealthiest of the Mughal rulers. He was a pious Muslim, and his policies partly abandoned the legacy of Akbar's secularism, which remains a very controversial aspect of his reign. During his lifetime, victories in the south expanded the Mughal Empire to more than 3.2 million square kilometres and he ruled over a population estimated as being in the range of 100-150 million subjects. He was a strong and effective ruler, but with his death the great period of the Mughal dynasty came to an end, and central control of the sub-continent declined rapidly. Aurangzeb was succeeded by his second son Shah Alam Bahadur I

Back to main page